West News Wire: On Monday evening, the 74th Emmy Awards were broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. Kenan Thompson served as the ceremony’s host. The presentation was mostly in person and resembled pre-academic award shows, similar to last year.

Matthew Macfadyen won the Emmy for outstanding supporting actor in a drama, while “Succession,” which received the most nominations with 25, won prizes for best drama and writing for a drama series. Murray Bartlett and Jennifer Coolidge won best supporting actor and actress for their roles in “The White Lotus,” which also took home awards for best writing, best directing, and best limited series.

Sheryl Lee Ralph became became the second Black woman to win the Emmy for outstanding supporting actress for “Abbott Elementary,” making her only the second Black woman to win the award. Lee Jung-jae became the first person from a foreign language show, “Squid Game,” to win best actor in a drama.

“Ted Lasso,” which was up for 20 awards, took home best comedy. Jason Sudeikis and Brett Goldstein won for their performances, and MJ Delaney won for directing.

Read More
Twelve major cities hit all-time homicide records


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here