West News Wire: According to a memo acquired by ESPN, the NFL told its 32 teams on Monday that the salary cap for the 2022 season had been established at $208.2 million.

It’s a big jump from the 2021 cap, which was established at $182.5 million per team due to predicted income for the previous season and revenue lost during the 2020 season due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The wage cap for 2020 was set at $198.2 million, a decrease from the previous year’s number of $198.2 million.

On Monday, the league announced the sums for 2022 franchise tags. he NFL informed its 32 teams on Monday that the salary cap for the 2022 season has been set at $208.2 million, according to a memo obtained by ESPN.

It marks a significant increase from the 2021 cap, which was set at $182.5 million per team because of projected revenue for last season and lost revenue during the 2020 season because of the COVID-19 pandemic which did not allow matches to be played. That figure was a drop from the 2020 salary cap, which was set at $198.2 million.

The league also set the amounts for 2022 franchise tags on Monday. Quarterbacks who receive a nonexclusive franchise tag before Tuesday’s 4 p.m. ET deadline will receive $29.703 million for the 2022 season if they can’t agree to a long-term contract by July 15, the deadline for franchised players to agree to long-term deals.

The other tag amounts are Running backs: $9.570 million, Wide receivers: $18.419 million, Tight ends: $10.931 million, Offensive linemen: $16.662 million, Defensive ends: $17.859 million, Defensive tackles: $17.396 million, Linebackers: $18.702 million, Cornerbacks: $17.287 million, Safeties: $12.911 million and Kickers and punters: $5.22 million.

Read More
Supreme Court building still closed but fencing removed

Teams must be at or under the salary cap by 4 p.m. ET on Wednesday, March 16, which is the official start of the 2022 league year.

Teams can begin negotiating with unrestricted free agents beginning on Monday, March 14 at noon ET. Contracts can’t be signed, however, until the new league year begins.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here