West News Wire: The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced a list of 10 nominees for the African Footballer of the Year award, which will be presented later this month for the first time in three years. Senegalese superstar Sadio Mane is at the top of the list.

On Monday, the nominee list was made public.

After a season in which he assisted Senegal in winning their first Africa Cup of Nations title and qualifying for the World Cup in Qatar, Mane, who won the previous award in 2019, will be the favourite to win again.

He also won a cup while playing for Liverpool at the club level, but he now plays for Bayern Munich.

His former teammates Naby Keita and Mohamed Salah are also among the 10 nominees, along with Manchester City’s Riyad Mahrez. Salah won the award in 2017 and 2018 and Mahrez in 2016.

The COVID-19 pandemic and the decision to switch the qualification period from the calendar year to the 2021-22 season is the reason why there has been no award for the last three years, CAF officials told the Reuters news agency.

The winner will be decided by a judging panel made up of members of CAF’s technical committee, press and coaches and captains of Africa’s 54 national teams and will be announced at a gala in Rabat, Morocco on July 21.

Nominee list:

Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco)

Sebastien Haller (Ivory Coast)

Naby Keita (Guinea)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria)

Sadio Mane (Senegal)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal)

Read More
Senegal beat Burkina Faso to reach AFCON final

Mohamed Salah (Egypt) and

Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here